Supply Plenum not selaed?

6 Replies

I have been replacing the entire duct system in my primary SFR (soon to be rental). One thing that has concerned me is that the supply plenum is wobbly and not very secured. I notice that it is tilting to one side and I can actually lift that side up to an extent. Its wrapped with insulation so I cannot see whats going on. But im thinking that it is not sealed correctly as well, and I may be loosing a lot of air once I turn it on. Any thoughts? Or is this normal and I have nothing to worry about?

Note: This is my first time replacing a duct system

Nothing normal about that @Paul D. . The system should be completely sealed without that type of movement which allows air to escape. It may not be a big deal but it should be looked at by an HVAC guy in your area. That should be something that is caught during an annual service/inspection and they may be able to easily fix it. Good luck Paul. 

Thanks @Rob Beland ,

Well, Since I am already up there replacing the ducts, maybe ill just take apart the insulation and take a look my self. If its just a re-sealing job, it shouldn't be too hard for me to set the plenum correctly with some screws, and re seal it with foil tape, right? I suppose the hard part may be putting the insulation back neatly.

@Paul D. as Rob said, this is nothing serious, but it should be sturdy. Sounds like a simple fix with a few sheet metal screws and aluminum tape.

Why are you replacing duct work?

@John Yanko

Thanks for the response.

The house was built in 79 and its the original ductwork. It is very difficult to cool the house. And I had a technician come look at my HVAC system, and pointed to the duct system as the problem.

Which makes sense, because since I have been up In the attic, I have noticed huge holes in the duct, and a couple of them were not even connected to the fitting anymore.