Sifting through public records

5 Replies

Hey Biggerpockets,

I'm a Software Developer and I've recently gotten into Real Estate Investing. Leveraging my coding skills I've been able to pull together information from multiple public records sites here in Cobb county, Georgia. I've only sifted through the single family residential of Cobb county. There are roughly 200k parcels in the Cobb region. From that list I can get absentee owners(state/out of state), delinquent tax, and also other data such as appraisal history, sale history, land value, improvement value and other such information. All of which can be used for analysis purposes.

The zip codes I looking to mainly operate are 30144, 30152, 30066, 30060, 30062, 30067, 30068, 30101. If there are interested experienced investors who work in those areas please get in contact with me. I'm willing to work with you and learn from each other.

Awesome. Might be able to leverage that on a bigger scale. I am thinking of offering more services to RE investors.

If you actually market too & want a sample of vacant leads  in those zip code let me know.

Thomas

Ah Georgia, I remember at my previous job having to sift through public records for owner information. Georgia was so nice to publish tons of information online, unlike many other states. 

@Thomas Wassmann

I'll probably be making more posts about it as time goes on. Just stay in touch.

@Curt Riffel

Georgia has amazing information online for free. Although each county has different information that they keep on record about homes, which makes it more of a challenge to compare the numbers when comparing counties. The main thing I love about Cobb County especially is the fact that it has the appraisal history going back to 2000 online. 

Great post man. How do you find the owner's phone number? or is it even advisable to do that? Maybe better to just send a letter to an absentee owner about the vacant property?

@Jorge Borjas