Best cordless tool system?

18 Replies

I need an impact driver, circular saw and trimmer (weed whacker).  In the future, I may also get a chainsaw, blower, who knows what else.  The new cordless options look good but it's hard to find non-biased (ie- paid for) reviews.  What I've found, it looks like the top quality and biggest tool selection is Makita, Dewalt and Milwaukee.  It's a huge investment though and I want to stick to 1 brand for compatibility.  I'm also in a relatively remote area.  There's a Lowes and Home Depot, half hour away in opposite directions.  So it'll like be an online purchase.

What do you use?  Where are good deals?  Any Black Friday specials coming up?  These should all be written off as property management expenses, right?

Hey Ryan!

Awesome on wanting a good set up. Just speaking out experience, I've had, and used and abused pretty much every cordless tool brand in the market. I'm a contractor and when I first started I always thought dewalt was the top dog. But years after years of realizing how much trouble I've had with dewalt, I had to make a change. It's obviously really good to stick to one cordless brand because the tools are all interchangeable with their batteries for the most part, meaning a drill battery will most likely fit a cordless circular saw and so on and so on. If you're looking for a really cheap, easily replaceable cordless set that probably won't last forever but will do the job and can be replaced cheaply, ryobi is the way to go. If you want to make the investment and have a setup that will probably last you longer than you ever thought possible, Milwaukee and Makita is my pick. I switched over to Makita about 6 years ago and I still have every single tool that I originally bought, working great, and we use them everyday, heavily. Yea there's an occasional battery to replace ever once in a blue moon, but the tools themselves are amazing. Pricey but amazing. You get what you pay for.