Tax & Financial Services
  • Accountant
  • 100% Remote
Votes |
Tax & Financial Services
  • Accountant
  • 100% Remote
Replied Oct 24 2021, 12:28

@Chris Gillam, I'm a Bookkeeper and Real Estate Investor. I recommend QuickBooks Online (at least Plus):

1) QBO can be set up/manipulated to track flips and rentals separately as well as each property and entity individually all under one subscription.

2) QBO has a better bank feed system than other software due to their secure relationship with a ton of banks. Some other software are made specifically for tenant management but it can be done in QBO if needed (minus maintenance requests, etc).

I hope this helps!

BiggerPockets logo
    BiggerPockets
    |
    Sponsored
    Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
    Chris Baxter
    • Rental Property Investor
    • Port Coquitlam, BC
    Votes |
    • Port Coquitlam, BC
    Replied Oct 24 2021, 20:01
    Tracking expenses is pretty easy.... you can do it yourself in a spreadsheet.  Aren't you interested in the whole picture (NOI, ROI, etc...)

User Stats

Votes
    Chuck M.
    • Northern Ontario
    Votes |
    • Northern Ontario
    Replied Oct 25 2021, 06:54

I agree with @Chris Baxter. If you build your own models in Excel - you can use it in combination with Quickbooks or another bookkeeping package.

We use Excel to provide instant access to things like an up-to-date personal net worth statement, balance sheets, and for ratio analysis across our portfolio at any point in time.

Business partners and lenders both appreciate having access to the info in the format that they prefer so we keep worksheets for each in their preferred format cross-linked to our cash flow tabs.

User Stats

Votes
    Simon W.
    Pro Member
    • Accountant
    • Lehigh Valley PA & New York City
    Votes |
    Pro Member
    • Accountant