Virtual Wholesaling in a Different State

10 Replies

Hi all,

I am looking to begin virtual wholesaling properties in FL. My question is: would it be wise to form an LLC in a more tax-friendly state, such as Delaware or Nevada? If I live in NY, but I do not intend to do any business in NY, would I need to have my out of state LLC filed as a foreign LLC in NY?

Essentially, I am looking to form an LLC in Delaware, do wholesale deals in FL, all while residing in NY. I understand I would need to create a foreign election of the Delaware LLC in Florida, but I'm not sure about NY. Any recommendations on this, or what to stay away from, is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

@Simon W. Thanks for the reply. While it isn’t necessary to have one, I’ve heard from most accountants it is wise to have one, at least after your first couple of deals. So, I’d rather get one set to be somewhat protected from that “corporate veil”.

Disclaimer: I am an attorney, but I am not your attorney. This is not legal advice, just friendly information.

Forming an entity outside your home state does not help much with taxes. For example, if you are wholesaling in FL but doing it from NY, you're still doing business in NY since that's where your office is. If you create a FL LLC, then it will need to register in NY as a foreign entity. The reverse is also true - if you're a NY LLC operating in FL, you'll be a foreign LLC in FL. If you create a DE LLC, then you'll need register it in DE, NY, and FL. That's a lot of additional fees.

I’m looking to do the same thing. Virtual wholesaling in other states. I’m located in Illinois. So, for instance, if I virtual wholesale homes in Georgia while here in Illinois, I would have to get a Foreign Qualification in Georgia?

Simon,

I'm about to throw a wrench into this virtual wholesaling and LLC debate. Simon W. said you don't need an LLC. I agree and disagree.