Revocable Trust for LLC

3 Replies

Hello,

I am in the process of setting up a real estate holding LLC and I wanted to place the holding company (and obviously all of the subsidiary LLCs) into a Revocable Trust to avoid Probate Court in case my untimely death. What is best flow for doing this:

1. Set up the holding LLC first, then transfer to the Trust
  2. Set up the ownership of the LLC as the Trust at the time of the LLC formation

I'm assuming the latter is less expensive and time consuming but not clear if you can do both at the same time.

Thanks

Disclaimer: I am an attorney, but I am not your attorney. This is not legal advice, just friendly information.

This is a mix of estate planning law and corporate entity law. What we usually do is identify the trust as owner of the LLC upon the LLC formation (assuming the trust already exists). But in these situations it is important that all the proper LLC documents are created showing that the LLC interest is owned by the trust, and how it was purchased; it may not be enough to simply register the LLC with the state especially when subsidiary LLCs are formed. It is also important to file any necessary deeds to make sure the properties are owned by the correct LLC.

Originally posted by @Sean Morrison :

Disclaimer: I am an attorney, but I am not your attorney. This is not legal advice, just friendly information.

This is a mix of estate planning law and corporate entity law. What we usually do is identify the trust as owner of the LLC upon the LLC formation (assuming the trust already exists). But in these situations it is important that all the proper LLC documents are created showing that the LLC interest is owned by the trust, and how it was purchased; it may not be enough to simply register the LLC with the state especially when subsidiary LLCs are formed. It is also important to file any necessary deeds to make sure the properties are owned by the correct LLC.