Did I make a HUGE mistake?!

23 Replies

I just joined BP and had joined Lifestyles Unlimited about a month ago. It cost me $6.5k and upon reading many discussions about them, mentoring in general, and how there's tactic to get you to join programs like LU, I feel like I just threw away REALLY hard earned money. They do email us deals and I have made offers on about 5, none of which have gotten accepted or rejected. I'm brand new to REI and I hope I didn't start off with a mistake already. Any comments?

The money would've been better spent towards a down payment on a property, but since you've already spent it, why not see if you can use to your advantage?

I've heard some people on here say that LU has access to vendors that provide a discount on materials (paint, carpet, etc)....see if you can use that for a rehab. Ask them why your offers are going nowhere, at least try and squeeze SOMETHING out it.

I the meantime, find your local REIAs that are either cheap or free, read BP and start networking with investors in your area.

Joe Butcher

Dallas, TX

Education is never a mistake. At the worst you have learned not to waste money on mentoring. At best they will teach you how to make much more than what you have invested.

You can't measure the value of education solely on the $$.

Gurus generally seem to be unpopular on here. I personally would never have made it without them.

Get what you can out of this since it's been a month, and I assume too long ago now to ask for a refund.

Education is always great, but it rarely should cost thousands in my opinion. You'll learn a ton from this site, going to local REIAs, learning your local laws, and buying a property.

Keep going!