Jersey Shore - first time investment

4 Replies

Wondering if anyone caN share their experience on vacation home rentals, specifically on the Shore, but any advice will do.

My background is that I own one rental home. Currently, I am researching the market for a second rental home. My preliminary plan is as follows:

build new home for roughly 600-650k within 2 blocks of shore.
rent at weekly for 2,500-3,500
drop down significantly for off season.
Some questions:
financing - is 30% down the norm for such properties? anyone know of scenarion where I can get away with 20%.
Off season - my concern is putting so much pressure on the summer months to make up the mortgage for the year. Given the shore locaiton, how unlikely is it that I get any off season tenants.
Rental agencies - im 2hrs from the shore so it may be best to use an agency to rent this out. How much do agencies eat into profit?
thanks for any and all advice.

I have a shore property that I rent out for 1 month and use the rest of the summer for my family's enjoyment. I find the numbers don't work too well so be careful. The off season rents drop down to $ 1500 - $ 1800 a month and their are tons of properties available. I had trouble renting it off season last year. The previous 2 years I had it rented. The realtors take 10% that the landlord pays down here. You have got you make all your money during the summer and if you get the off-season than that's just gravy. I wouldn't build but look for an existing property instead. Tough to find any lots or teardowns close to the beach. If you pick a popular place close to the beach and rent it out for the entire summer you have a good shot of making money. P.S. Double-check your flood insurance and flood zones as certain areas the flood insurance rates have skyrocketed since the major flooding in 2012 depending on your elevations and flood zone.