Want to build architect designed homes

4 Replies

Hi.

I'm new to REI and I'm trying to figure out the best way to go about it. My fiance is an architect and ultimately what I'd like to do is find lots to purchase or houses to demo and build new houses that he designs.

Is this the sort of thing that requires a lot of money to get started? Does being designed by an architect generally bring in a bigger profit?

I am toying with the idea of getting a realtor's license thinking it might help find deals on land. Would it make sense to work with a broker/agency to start out or am I just as well off taking courses through kaplan?

@Pam N. Welcome to BP. You can find a lot of information on here to help you in your careers. Being a licensed agent and an architect will help you add value to your deals in the future.

Having a house designed by an architect doesn't increase the value of a home, unless it is a renowned architect, etc. What you are asking about is basically building "spec" houses. In fact, it's what we do. We buy lots, design a house, build it and sell it. We are licensed brokers, general and electrical contractors. Our son does the preliminary designs and renderings, then we have an architect do their notes, etc. We build and then sell to an investor or end user.

There are many posts on BP that deal with such things, and there's even an ebook here on BP, Diary of a Construction Project by @J Scott, as well as podcasts. In fact, if you look at the top of the page, in the yellow banner there's a link to the latest one, dealing with spec.

As for your R.E. license, Kaplan is a good one.

Good luck. Ask questions, have fun! Upload a pic to your profile too, it gives your posts more personality. If you don't want your photo, upload a local landmark or ?

Pam,