Newbie looking for help

11 Replies

I'm a newbie in illinois looking to purchase my first property. Im looking for some advice. should I consider a preforeclosure or try to purchase through a auction. I would appreciate any help from the community forum. Thank you in advice.

Welcome to the BP family. You should try and acquire from any source that offers the best property for the least amount of money. There are many sources, HUD, Auctions, Hubzu and check out Zillow and Trulia and then explore the possibilities. Inspect the properties, get your financiel house in order. Determine how much less you want to offer below the advertised price and you are on your way. Check out some of the pod casts from the learn section as well as review some of the articles and get up the learning curve. Good luck and welcome aboard.

John Moore, John Moore Homes | 570 620‑8080 | http://www.johnmoorehomesllc.com

Welcome to bp angela.

my suggestion to you would be to go where the best deal is. Do not define where it is you should buy your 1st property beforehand. My strategy is always to buy the best deal available at that time wherever it may be.

Medium holton wise property group logo jpegJames Wise, The Holton Wise Property Group | [email protected] | 216‑661‑6633 | http://www.HoltonWisePropertyGroup.com | OH Agent # 2015001161 | Podcast Guest on Show #127

@Angela Smith

Welcome. Fill in the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having 60 past ones to catch up on.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers.