Looking for advice on planning for an investing future

1 Reply

Hello,

(I apologize if this is in the wrong part of BiggerPockets)

I am 16 years old and I am an honors high school student with a 3.9 GPA. I plan to go to a university and major in Business. I am not sure if I will get my Master's or just a Bachelor's but I will probably go for a Master's degree. After college, I would like to begin real estate investing. In order to focus on my studies, I don't keep a job over the school year, but I do work during the summers. So far I have saved up just a little over $20,000 and most of that is invested in a mutual fund. I am looking for advice on what I can do while I am younger to make myself better prepared for investing in the future, because the last thing that I want to do is graduate college and find myself utterly unprepared for anything (granted, I will be unprepared for many things, but the goal here is to be prepared for as much as possible.)

I don't spend much, for the most part I put gas in my parents' Prius every now and then and I buy the occasional movie ticket or candy bar - but I save most of my paycheck.

So, my biggest question is, what can I do to set myself up for success?

Thank you,

James

Hi James,

If you go for a job go for the Masters. Everyone has the bachelors degree. Over your career having a Master degree or PH.D as far as a job is concerned will bring in a higher salary and generally more of a chance for advancement.