Unique Situation for First-Time Poster

6 Replies

Hi all,

I am very new to this site and the real estate world. I graduated college a year ago, and I have started saving some money, and I am considering using real estate as an on-the-side investment opportunity. However, I am in a unique situation where I will be rotating every 18-24 months to a new city for the next 5-6 years, and currently live in South Baltimore. This leads me to the following questions:

Is there a recommended type of real estate investing for someone moving around? Buy-and-hold seems like the route I would go, because while out-of-state I could use a property manager.

Is it possible to use the same "team" (attorney, CPA, etc.) across state lines?

What additional risks are associated with out-of-state investing, and how long must you live in a multi-family unit to be considered "owner-occupied"?

Thank you for reading this, and I look forward to becoming more engaged with this site!

@Zach Holmes yes, buy & hold would be the easiest to manage while moving around.

Maybe pick one or two strong lateral markets, like the mid-west [not volatile markets like Vegas, Phx, etc] and just sticking to those areas the entire time you are moving around?

I would suggest using the same CPA [a good one is hard to find like all professionals] and use a state specific attorney and then a city specific property manager.

I believe most government agencies [HUD, HomePath, etc] "require" at least living in the property for one year to qualify as owner occupied. Of course, how you actually handle this is up to you...

Thank you @Shawn Holsapple . Most of my potential locations are east coast and Midwest based, so this would make sense for me.