LLC vs. Personal Name

17 Replies

hi, I am about to buy my first investment property. I'll be getting a mortgage on my personal name, however i am considering to put the actual ownership of the property on an LLC, will that give me any protection in a case someone wants to sue me ?

Also, shouldn't insurance cover all possible claims ?

thank you all in advance for your input

You should speak to your lender about doing a deed transfer into an LLC for asset protection purposes... If you do a quitclaim deed, you will lose title insurance. They typically wont care if your paying your bills on time! LLC gives you some protection but if you want ultimate asset protection, look into land trusts. That way you own nothing but control everything!

LLC won't protect you, but a good insurance policy will.

Joe Gore

First of all I'm not a lawyer, however for investment property I'd suggest an LLC. Having all your investment real estate activity contained within a LLC or LLC's is great for a number of reasons. It contains most of the liability - so you lower your risk of personally being sued by someone. I personally think it also makes it better for accounting since even though the IRS considers it a pass through entity if it's a single member LLC - you contain everything inside "your business name LLC"

I would suggest getting a couple of investment properties first then create a LLC. Most people on bigger pockets, like myself, have an umbrella policy. Most landlord insurance policies cover accidents, but its usually between 100,000-250,000 coverage.

thank you all. what is a "quitclaim deed" ?