getting paid and avoiding taxes

13 Replies

I have been reading alot about taxes and 1031s but i never seem to see anything on how you pay yourself without having to pay the higher tax rates for gains and profits. My thoughts are that you can pay yourself off of the profits of a flip and invest the rest into the next one as a 1031 to keep business rolling. Is this what everybody does? Am I just asking the obvious? Or is there something that I am missing? Is there a podcast that would speak to this subject?

Im not an expert, but in a 1031, the profits must be transfered to another project of like kind within a 3 month period.

So you are not getting paid in a 1031.

Someone with more experience Ims sure while chime in.

Profit from a flip is taxed as ordinary income, including SS/Med, period. No way to change it. The only option I know of is of your entity is taxed as a sub S corp., pay yourself a reasonable salary, say $40-50k, taxed as payroll, and any profits above that would be taxed as ordinary income, but without SS/Med. A 1031 can't be applied to a flip.

I don't know that a "flip" as commonly understood, could ever be subject to a 1031 exchange.

A 1031 exchange has a number of rules. One is intent to hold. Flippers pretty much by definition have no intent to hold, IMO.

Another is the qualified use test. As I understand it, the guidance is that you need to have held the property for 2 years.

Flipping is (hopefully, if you think about it) not about capital gains at all. You don't want to be holding long enough to qualify. Flipping is essentially a job, leading to ordinary taxable income.

The good news on the SS is that if you have a job and then flip a house or two, you can get above the maximum withholding pretty easily. When that happens, you will get a refund of the excess SS tax paid.

So you cannot roll profits from a flip into a hold via 1031?

Originally posted by @Drew Poniewaz :