Newbie from Chicago Western Suburbs

6 Replies

Hi all,

I am a newbie looking to invest in rental properties and perhaps even flip a home! Looking for ANY advise I can get on how to get over my analysis paralysis and to find a property to get started with. 

Also, does anyone have any tips on what ROI should look like when deciding if a property is a good fit financially?

Thank you!

@Lauren Apicella welcome to BP. If you check out the resource tab you can find some good calculators to use for ROI. I am new as well and have not purchased my first investment, but I would say you should look for an ROI that makes you happy. It just depends on what your comfortable with. Do you want 5% ROI or 10%ROI. I think it's really up to you and your financial standing. Good luck.

@Lauren Apicella  

Welcome. Fill in the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 70 past ones to catch up on.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses,The Book on Estimating ReHab Costshttp://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

You might consider Niche or Specialized Housing like student housing. Rents can be 2-4 times more. Remember you don't have to own a property to control it.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book