Motivated Sellers

6 Replies

Hello BP peers. I am new to the RealEstate market and I am looking for the best ways to attract motivated sellers with spending as least money that I can? it seems to be a challenge for me to locate off market properties. As a wholsaler, these are important i see. What would be a great strategy to get me going?

Read the wholesaling forums and you will get a ton of ideas.  Here are a few:

1. Craigslit ad - Free

2. Bandit Signs (if legal in your area) <$100 for enough to get the phone to ring

3. Connect with an agent, and make offers on MLS properties

4. Tell everyone you know/meet that you are looking to buy properties and be specific to an area, or type of house - you never know someone who knows someone...

Lots of other options, the key is to focus on one or two things, read a lot about them, and then start executing - don't overstudy the path - you will learn as you go.  Good luck

@Brittany Thompson   in terms of learning and applying techniques to wholesale property I agree with @Dave Savage . I'd like to look at another facet. Why do you want to wholesale in the first place?

I ask this all the time of the new investors. The problem I find is that they are only looking at the low barrier to entry. They've been told you can invest with no cash and no credit by flipping purchase contracts. What they were not told is that wholesaling is not easy. It can be remarkably discouraging. It usually requires the broadest knowledge of RE investing strategies and strong marketing skills. 

There are always exceptions. Some people just take to it naturally and do very well. Perhaps that's you. If so, read no further. You'd do quite well with the suggestions Dave offered.