Wholesaling Property

2 Replies

A couple of years ago,  I was going to start out in Wholesaling. However, life happened. I am finally ready to give it a second try. However, I need to know how I can build an all cash list. Should I find a property first, and if so, should I utilize an attorney? Should I find the cash buyers first, and then go looking for property based on their criteria?

I am also a Licensed Real Estate professional in the state of New York. I have done extensive research, but need to know how I should go about it. Furthermore, should I see the transaction to closing, or just worry about my part at assignment, and then move onto the next transaction. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Here are a few ways I build a buyers list:

1. Contact investors from bandit signs and see if you can send them any leads that meet 

their criteria

2. Network at local REI groups

3. Contact for rent signs--in most cases these are investors and again see if you can send them homes that meet their criteria

Hope this helps

Sakeena A.

I hope I don't take you too far off topic - but I'd like to share some thoughts with you as you get started... (& then I'll try to also answer your questions)...

As a licensed RE professional in NY, you will be held to a higher standard.  Some may perceive your wholesaling activities as cherry-picking or, worse, as acting as an agent.  We know that the most successful real estate investors we work with are in fact licensed, so it's a plus not a minus, but just make sure you understand the rules and kind of put a virtual wall between your "RE investing" and your "RE agent" activities.