Condos as investment properties

8 Replies

Greetings all. I'm extremely new to real estate investing and wanted to start out as small and safe as possible. I wanted know the communities thoughts on buying condos and renting them out as a strategy? Also, I wanted to know about buying condos in foreclosure.

Are these sound strategies?

What are some pitfalls to be aware of?

What are the best resource to research this strategy?

Thanks

One thing about condos to look out for is the HOA fees and how they have been increasing in the past years. Also how much of a reserve fund is in the building. If the reserve funds is almost depleted an assessment may be asked by the owners.

Hope this helps. 

Sorry came out wrong. The condo Corp will be asking the owners for a special assessment fee.

As a realtor and a landlord I own 6 rental properties and they include single family homes and condo/townhomes. The biggest challenge with single family homes is the maintenance even with landscaping services. Even with the condo fees factored into your budget it is much easier to be a condo landlord than a single family home landlord. 

Condos also make better investments for ROI per month due to the lower costs yet appreciation doesn't seem to be as great as a single family home. The biggest mistake I made was buying based on price alone. One condo purchase had an incredible ROI but trying to sell it down the road was difficult. The area had become increasing less desirable and it saw little appreciation compared to other condos I had purchased.