Just getting started. Any recommendations

6 Replies

I'm just getting started in Idaho and have a passion for real estate. Any ideas on how to get started? And what to look for?

Start by spending a couple weeks/months reading everything you can get your hands on.  You can probably spend months just reading the BiggerPockets forums, blog, articles and guides.  After a couple weeks of reading, you should have a much better idea of what you want to do and how to get started doing it.

I agree with @J Scott . There is a wealth of information and a million different ways to make money (or get distracted) in this biz.  Read up on a few different strategies and property types that you have interest.  Once you determine that, learn in and apply it.  Take action!

Dan Walters, Treasure Valley Home Solutions | [email protected] | 208.287.5450

I would try to link up with a investment group or find a local investor and pick their brain.  It never hurts to ask questions and learn as much as you can.  I have found that property managers can be a great source of knowledge, especially if you offer to buy them lunch or coffee, since you may be bringing them more business.

I try to read 2-3 books a year on REI, but when I first started out I was reading 2-3 a month. Most of them said the same things just in different ways. Other books gave me new ideas or different perspectives & strategies.

Good Luck.

Thanks everyone for your help. I have been reading up on real estate for a while now. And I think it's time for me to take action. I have some investor friends who I've been talking with a lot and they recommend I do the same. I was just wondering how other people got started. Thanks again