Renting vs. Flipping- Pro's and Con's

6 Replies

Hi all,

I am just getting started and am ready to get some properties under my belt.  I am a little unsure of what direction I want to head.  Could you please tell me the pro's and cons of flipping vs. renting?  How to build wealth?  Risks of each?

@Benjamin Andrew Pogue  That is a huge question.  Simple preference aside, renting is easier and scales more easily than flipping.  It is easier to find cash flowing properties than flips.  You don't need to know as much.  There is less risk.  You generally need less money.  It can scale from one to hundreds.  It can be passive.

Flipping, if you do it right, can earn you more cash faster.  You really need to have some cash, though if you have a slam dunk deal you could partner or get a private lender and do it without any of your own cash.  But it is less predictable then monthly rents and is difficult, though not impossible, to scale.  It also takes a lot of work.

Thanks for the reply! My thought is to do flips to help fund my rentals. I would rather pay cash for my rentals and have the high monthly cash flow rather than having mortgages on all of them. But, I know nothing about flipping houses and realize that rentals would be much easier.

As an attorney who handles evictions for many homeowners, I can tell you that if not done properly, renting has the potential to be a total nightmare.  Tenants tend to be "judgment proof" making it difficult for Landlords to collect from non-paying tenants.  Depending on the Courts in the State and County the properties you are in, it could take many months to properly evict a non-paying or troublesome tenant.