College Student Looking For a Start

6 Replies

I am a student getting ready to graduate in December with a degree in Finance. I am really passionate about real estate and looking to get into the industry. In development, redevelopment, flipping, and wholesaling.  Any suggestions? 

thank you very much. This website was a great find. I love the podcasts. I'm looking to start a career in the real estate industry in southeast U.S. 

What's up, Kiel?

Welcome to the site. I graduated in May 2013 and am currently working a really cool job in commercial real estate. My twin brother and I co-own 5 units here in Indianapolis and are always looking to add to our portfolio. REI is one of the most lucrative yet challenging industries in the world -- and you'll begin to see that on your own as you start.

My advice for newbies:

1. Network. Meet people who want to do what you want to do. Associate yourself with folks who want to learn more and are frantic to be the best.

2. FHA Loans. The best way to get started is to utilize an FHA loan which allows you to acquire a 2-4 unit property at 3.5% down so long that you live in one of the units. My brother and I are living in one of the 4 units in a property we just purchased while leasing out the other three. This allows us to cash flow while building equity and faith with lenders and possible investors.

Reading here on BP is the best way to get started. Get familiarized with the terms, products, and situations. Learn what you can and make the leap - once you do, you won't look back.

Agreed with @Evan Manship  network as much as possible. It really helps in being around like-minded people. 

Best way to learn in my opinion is full immersion in the industry! 

Good luck @Kiel Bollero  and always believe!

@Evan Manship