How much does one need to know about construction?

11 Replies

Hi, I am a brand new investor with zero experience. In talking to and reading about those who have successfully invested, most seem to have a very firm knowledge of the principles of sound housing construction--seems like most were flippers first. I have no such knowledge and can barely fix a water faucet. 

Are these skills I should acquire before taking the plunge? 

Originally posted by @Brian Tracy :

Hi, I am a brand new investor with zero experience. In talking to and reading about those who have successfully invested, most seem to have a very firm knowledge of the principles of sound housing construction--seems like most were flippers first. I have no such knowledge and can barely fix a water faucet. 

Are these skills I should acquire before taking the plunge? 

Unless they were licensed plumbers, electricians or general contractors prior to becoming a house flipper they learned via experience of fixing and flipping houses. The more houses you visit (with contractor in tow) the more you will learn. The uglier the house the better....

Kudos,

Mary 

@Brian Tracy   "How much does one need to know about construction?"

But you better know a good construction/project manager!

If you would have difficulty in changing a faucet, I think you'd be a prime target for getting ripped off by countless contractors. Mostly because you don't have the real world experience and would have no idea when you are getting taken advantage of.