How to beginning investing in rental properties

17 Replies

Hello, my name is Nick and this is my first post on Bigger Pockets! Let me beginning by introducing my self, I am 18 years old, I am a freshman in college (majoring in entrepreneurship), I am the 2012 South Carolina Young Entrepreneur of the Year. I am extremely interested in owning rental properties and the passive income they can offer. I like to think i am very good with my finances, and have about $10,000 saved at this time. I buy and sell vehicles, car parts, and basically anything I can make a profit on, but I really want to move into a more sustainable investment that will allow me to never have the dreaded "day job". This brings me to my question, i understand business and I do already have what i believe to be the "required" start-up money for buying my first property, but unfortunately do not have any knowledge of where to start. I would like to know what is the best place to start, what type of property to buy, and how to get the best financing for the property.

Thank you for your time!n

Start by backing up one of those cars, and join your local REIA group. There you will network/meet many new and seasoned investors, and will learn a lot.

You are a freshman right now in formal school, but you are a lot further back in REI school. Read, read and read some more. Go to your local bookstore and camp out there. When you reach the point where everyone that works there calls you Norm ("Cheers??"), then you're there enough.

Buying and selling vehicles is how I got my down payment for my first house!