cost to set up structure

5 Replies

hello, my name is craig and im new to bigger pockets, my question is roughly how much should I be expecting to pay in order to set up a 2 tier holding company ? any info is greatly appreciated,   thanks

What do you mean by "two tier holding company"?  What state are your properties in?

Here in CO it costs $50 on the secretary of state's web site to create an entity, so creating two would cost you $100.  Creating an operating agreement is a different can of worms and you may need help from an attorney to do that.  But actually creating entities is easy in most states and I see no reason to pay an attorney or anyone else to do that for you.

But I suspect you're doing this for asset protection.  I'd recommend discussion your situation with an experienced attorney specializing in this area.  That may cost significantly more.

Originally posted by @Jon Holdman :

What do you mean by "two tier holding company"?  What state are your properties in?

Here in CO it costs $50 on the secretary of state's web site to create an entity, so creating two would cost you $100.  Creating an operating agreement is a different can of worms and you may need help from an attorney to do that.  But actually creating entities is easy in most states and I see no reason to pay an attorney or anyone else to do that for you.

But I suspect you're doing this for asset protection.  I'd recommend discussion your situation with an experienced attorney specializing in this area.  That may cost significantly more.

Originally posted by @Craig Macdonald:
Originally posted by @Jon Holdman:

But I suspect you're doing this for asset protection.  I'd recommend discussion your situation with an experienced attorney specializing in this area.  That may cost significantly more