Have a Plan....But Needs Work

6 Replies

I am new to the whole REI world and am very excited to hit the ground running. I have a plan that I have drawn up as to how I want to go about my investing but am still hesitant on starting it up. I have 2 people who would be a partner of mine, to help me fund my first buys. I want to start off with buying and holding at first then maybe go into flipping homes once I get some cash flow and stability. But without any real guidance by any one in my social group that shares the investing idea. Sorry if this is a common and annoying post, just trying to reach out to like minded people. Thanks!

It's just my personal opinion , but if it were me I would flip some house first and get a nest egg. After I had some cash saved I would buy some rentals w/o the partners. 

partners=proplems

First thing, learn RE, not RE strategies, you should know what an agent knows before putting other people's money at risk.

Then you can look at strategies and understand how different situations will call for different strategies, you'll be applying the basics you learned.

Before using partner's money, you need to define the partnership, the splits, profits, liabilities, what happens if someone drops dead, what happens in other situations and how you buy out other partners. You really should see an accountant and an attorney.

Then you'll be ready to go hunting, you'll be loaded for bear RE! Good luck :) 

Yeah I enrolled in a RE school to get my license that starts the end of this month.  Thanks for the advice. Both of the partners I was considering are both immediate family, but you both are right in that I want to learn more about it all before jumping in.

Not to discourage, however when I furst got my agent's license, in 1978, I was prepared to pass the licensing exam. And that's about it. Fortunately, I had no access to any sizable amount of money, lest I be dangerous.