Starting out in Atlanta

9 Replies

Hi - I'm just starting out in my investing career and am looking for some advice. I've joined the local REIA and have read a lot of material. I'm looking to flip and buy and hold and I'm having a hard time finding deals for sure. I'd like to stay in the suburbs north of Atlanta, but realize I may have to go outside that area.

Also, I went ahead and got my real estate license to get MLS access and to sell my flips myself. I haven't found a broker yet and am trying to locate an investor friendly one in the Atlanta area.

Any advice for how to begin the deal finding process, or if you know of an investor friendly broker in the area, I'd be grateful.

@Tim Shoemaker  Welcome to BP. I would post a pic of yourself, complete your profile, and get a membership to put a posting in the marketplace. BP is all about help each other out and the membership is the best thing you can EVER do for your business, and no I dont work for BP.

Welcome to BP @Tim Shoemaker  !  I would recommend trying to use direct mail to find deals.  I'd do a search for "direct mail" and "yellow letters" here on BP to get you started.  Also, start telling everyone you can about your real estate ambitions, goals, etc.  You never know who amoung your friends/acquiantences will point a deal in your direction!  Good luck!

Hi Tim,

Welcome to BP. I'm not too far from you over in Rome. While the deals are a lot more scarce I'm still finding a few here and there. I think this is because we're far enough away from Atlanta to not get caught up in that market. So if your willing to travel a bit maybe try looking in some of the smaller towns a bit further out.