Texas Beginner

5 Replies

Hey Everyone. I'm brand new to REI and to Bigger Pockets! This seems like an incredible networking opportunity for this business, so I'm glad I found it.

I have two rather general questions. First--what would you say is the best way to get the most out of this site? I'm a all about learning everything I can in order to begin investing intelligently, so I'm going to try to learn from those of you who are professionals when it comes to REI and/or BIgger Pockets.

Secondly--I'm a young, full-time working professional.  I recently got a quasi-internship with a real estate office, and I'm going back to school to get licensed as an agent.  These are the steps I'm taking to get to know the inner workings of the business.  

I'm coming from the position of a high debt-to-income ratio, but enough cash flow to live comfortably.  In my wildest dreams, I'd like to work my butt off for a year or two to get the cash needed to pay off my student debt, but I don't see that happening.  What would your plan of action be?  Would it include school?

Generally, I'm looking for basic direction early on in my REI career. I have short-term needs mixed with a long-term vision of a legacy for my family.

Any and all information is appreciated.  You're all too good to be true.  Thank you so much.  

@Scott Rowsick  congratulations on wanting to become a real estate investor..  What kind of strategy are you looking to do in real estate?  Everyone wants to make money or be a real estate investor the key is having a plan or strategy in place to accomplish your goals.  Are you looking to buy properties to hold or properties to buy and flip?  This is important to know to figure out the direction that you want to go.

getting your real estate license could be a good step you would at least know all of the contract walls and real estate laws associated it with your state.