Locating and selecting a mentor

4 Replies

I am just starting my educational process with regards to real estate investing and as I listen to numerous podcasts the topic of mentors is consistent.  Most seasoned successful people in the business recommend finding a local mentor if one is just starting out in the business.

With that I am eager to learn and just as eager to get started with my business.  I live outside the Sacramento area in California and am looking for the best strategy for finding a successful, quality and skilled mentor who would be open to supporting me in my investment career.  

What area of REI are you interested in pursuing? That answer would be the start of the direction you should start out. I.E. flips... network with someone that does a ton of flips and see how you could benefit them ..

What can you offer a mentor?

I'm just starting out as well but being in the Corporate world for 19 yrs and a father of four, I know a little something about mentoring.  The question asked "What can you offer a mentor?" is a good one.  Nothing is worse than a Mentor putting energy, time, and effort into a mentee who is just not reciprocating those things.

i've mentored folks in my field for a long time and there are never a shortage of well intentioned individuals who just didn't invest as much as I did so I had to sever a few relationships.  Having said that, part of mentoring is teaching mentees how to be a good mentee.  Part of that is clearly understanding 1)  What do you want, and be specific about skills and technical knowledge you want 2) Do they even HAVE those particular skills?