If you were a newbie and had $20k, how would you use it?!

20 Replies

I'm a newbie. I have $20k set aside.  My original plan was to use it to pay off debt.  Then I decided to get serious about real estate investing, found bigger pockets and learned a little about leveraging money.

So for you experienced folks, how would you use this money?!

(We are currently searching for another single family home to move into and rent our current place. I will be using a 2nd tier va loan with $0 down. I don't want to use any of the $20k for this deal.  I have $27k in equity in our current home.  If we manage it as a rental it will cash flow about $250 a month.)

I'd say this depends on what kind of debt you currently have. If you have ~20% credit card debt looming around around, I'd say pay that off first. If it's long term, low interest rate date, I would definitely invest those funds into some healthy real assets (real estate!).

@Jeremy Jackson We followed that path in the beginning, moved and rented it. As @Mehran K. said, what kind of debt are you looking at? 

Real estate can cost big chunks of money, out of nowhere.  But sometimes not. You need to be able to react to these things. 

If the debt is no big deal, start your education and start looking.

If you are headed into real estate, waiting six months and getting your affairs in order will not delay you much long term.

If you were ready (and to your question), with conventional financing that $20,000 isn't going to get you to a downpayment alone. You would need a partner, a seller to carry some of the downpayment, or to wait and save more money.

I have very little credit card debt.  3k that I'm paying off with my tax return.  The 20k was going to be used to pay off a 1.9% vehicle loan.  So not high interest at all. 

@Ryan Arth  

I'm in the exact scenario. Have 20k and own a 3b/1b. Gonna make  rental and purchase another house. Should my next purchase be a house for me or a rental then buy a third house for me?