New Investor Starting in Buffalo, NY

11 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I am new to REI but have been very intrigued with it for a very long time due to the numerous financial success stories that I have heard for quite some time now. My goals are very high for Real Estate, because I believe in always having very big goals set for oneself, that way you're always striving to achieve it and be bigger and better. Also what's a goal if it's easy to obtain anyways...?

I have them set pretty straight forward: -acquire a million dollars worth of RE/own a million dollars worth of RE (I am still new to all the terms, but "owning" means the equity put into them correct?) and then finally cash flow a million per year.  After these initial goals are accomplished, then I am able to set the bar even higher and go up from there.

I read the Ultimate Beginner's Guide to REI a few times and have a fairly good understanding of the basics, which leads to believe that my goals can be accomplished a few ways.

My question is: What would be the best way to go about it? Buying and renting properties, flipping, commercial, apartments, land? I am still stumped on where to start and how to expand quickly so any and all advice is GREATLY appreciated!  Thank you very much and I'm excited to hear all the responses!

Welcome to BP! It's hard to tell you what the best way to go about investing is. I lean toward buy and hold because I think it has the best long-term potential. That being said, each person is different and a lot of it depends on your goals.

Medium apartment logoAndrew Syrios, Stewardship Investments | http://www.StewardshipProperties.com | Podcast Guest on Show #121

Originally posted by @Andrew Syrios :

Welcome to BP! It's hard to tell you what the best way to go about investing is. I lean toward buy and hold because I think it has the best long-term potential. That being said, each person is different and a lot of it depends on your goals.