New to Bigger Pockets

8 Replies

Hi,

I just joined BP and read a few of the forums about investing in properties without any money. All of the methods sound really exciting, but I can't help but feel this invisible hurdle of self-doubt that is holding me back from physically trying to acquire a property.  I might have no money and poor credit, but I have 12 years of fine-carpentry experience, a high IQ, and an eagerness to learn how to build myself some financial security so I can escape the dreaded Rat-Race. Any help would be appreciated. I look forward to hearing from all of you. Thanks,

Wasim

@Wasim Almashhadani Welcome to BP!

As Theodore Roosevelt once said "Believe you can and you're halfway there"

Being that you're a fine carpenter you're literally half way there ...  being that you're in the construction industry you know what labor prices, you can evaluate the work to ensure it's done properly or you can save money and do it yourself ... Many investors wish they were  good with construction like you are - my self included.

You came to the right place BP has tons of resources to help you begin your journey.

If you have any questions don't hesitate to reach out  - good luck.

Carlos

Welcome Wasim!

I've found you get much more back when you don't ask for anything and instead offer to help others. Not knocking you, I've done what you're doing now and it most likely won't help you at all. You need to learn, network and offer value to others. 

Are you going to any meetings/meetups? Have you reached out to anyone locally to buy them a coffee or offered to clean up job sites, stuff envelopes, research, etc.? Are you working in a field that will put you in the path of success in REI? Could be construction/maintenance, could be in a bank, could be as a realtor. Set yourself up for success.