Denver Metro Investing

9 Replies

Hi All,

This is my first official post.  I've been researching & learning amazing things on BP. <3 The podcast. Thank you so much to everyone that gives back the wisdom that you've been imparted with. I would love to give back by offering insight in to the automotive service industry.  I was a Volkswagen/Audi technician for ten years. I would be pleased to answer your VW or Audi questions in a PM.   

I am looking to invest locally in the Denver metro area, specifically for a rental property with good cash flow in the low 100k's. The market is so hot as you probably know that all deals are being sold @ or over listing price. I have put in two offers on two different condos in the last two weeks, lost both deals.  I even offered 5k over asking price on one of them. 

I would love some expert advice on how to secure my first deal in this hot market.  I also may be in the market for a local real estate agent who's familiar with rentals & the Denver market.

Thx!

Hello@Jared Chipkin ,

I see you are already feeling the purchasing pain in Denver.  The key is patience.  Deals are out there, but they are very difficult to find.  Your price point is VERY hot right now.  In fact, KUNC had a story this morning on the housing market up in Northern Colorado.  Can you believe that in Ft Collins, Greeley, Loveland and Windsor, you apparently cannot touch a house (according to the story ) for less than $250?  

That said, if you can get something purchased, you'll definitely be able to get it rented.  Be careful not to join the bidding frenzy that can/will result when the listing agent contacts you for your Highest and Best.  I usually write my offer that way the first time, so I just tell them they already have it.

Also, be prepared - at your price point, you'll have quite a bit of rehab.  I'm working a deal now that has the purchase point below $150, but will require about $50 of rehab as well.