how can I purchase a multi family property with no money?

6 Replies

I'm just starting out in real estate investing and I would really like to start with multi-family properties. Can I do this with no money down?

@Anittra Davis - there are many ways to get into properties with little or none of your own money. Using other people's money to do deals is powerful but comes with risks if you do not have sufficient reserves and can lead to failure and having real estate be a huge burden instead of rewarding. Take the time to educate youself on the pitfalls of real estate investing . 

FHA has mortgage programs that allow as little as 3.5% down on 1 thru 4 unit properties. Again, having reserves to get you through tough times is crutial to your success. Good luck.

You can, but I question whether you should...

Getting in is probably the easiest part. If you can talk the owner into a no money down lease purchase option or a seller carry back.

The reason an owner would considder a deal like that is that there are issues with the property. Physical problems with the building or a bunch of undesirable tenants in the building. Most likely you are not going to do this with a class A building in a nice part of town, it will be a class C or D on the wrong side of the tracks...

I have done these deals and solved the problems. However, solving the problems can get very expensive (again, that's why the owner would consider a no money down deal).

So, you can get a multifamily property for no money down, but please don't do it unless you have the time and money to follow through.

Erik

@Anittra Davis

Check out @Brandon Turner new book.  It should answer any question you have about buying properties with no money down.  Here is the link.  http://www.biggerpockets.com/store