Best Elective to choose for California Real Estate License course

8 Replies

Hi everyone,

My goal is to buy and flip houses, but I have decided to start off with getting my real estate license in California. I have decided to go with Allied Real Estate School. There are two required courses: Principles and Practice. The third course is a choice:

1. Legal Aspects of Real Estate
  2. Real Estate Finance
  3. Property Management, 
  4. Real Estate Appraisal, 
  5. Real Estate Economics, 
  6. Real Estate Office Administration, or 
  7. Escrows.

I have read in a few places that it is recommended to take either the Legal Aspects of Real Estate or Real Estate Finance. However, since my ultimate goal is to buy and flip houses, I was thinking the Real Estate Appraisal would be better. 

I would love to hear what others think. Thank for you time.

Tim Walton

I studied law with the intention of getting a JD, but became disabled.  I did attain a Bachelors in Law, and many years ago got my real estate agent license in WA.

But no education has served me better than learning law - especially contracts and how to look up laws.  If you know the law, it will not only save you a bunch of money on lawyers, but nobody can bluff or BS you.  This is priceless.

I vote you study the legal aspects.

For my CA. Broker license, I have taken finance, appraisal, and property managment, and enjoyed the legal apects of real estate class the most.