Book Recommendations??

3 Replies

Hello All!

I'm in the process of getting my real estate license and planning on getting involved in real estate investments in the near future. Does anyone have good book recommendations that are 1) good study guides for the real estate licensing exam? and 2) good references for those starting off in the real estate business?

Also, has anyone ever gone this route, meaning got their license, learned the business and then started investing?

Any offers are appreciated!

Thanks!

Arica H.

I got my real estate license after I had been doing this for 5 years.....buying, rehabbing, personally owning property, managing dozens of tenants, recycling capital through lenders, negotiating contracts, worrying and planning.

I didn't get a license any sooner because I could represent someone with a straight face that I knew what I was doing.

Frank

As a newbie/student, of the whole REI thing my self, I would recommend the Millionaire Real Estate Investor, by Gary Keller. I have learned a lot going through that book about investing in real estate, things I would have never thought of. He also has another book in the same series called The Millionaire Real Estate Agent, which I haven't read but have heard good things. I've also started reading another one of the books in the series called flip, based on a recommendation from a fellow BP member. Honestly though if you just jump on BP a few times a day, ask questions, and read forum posts that interest you, you'll learn a ridiculous amount, and even meet some great people along the way. I've only become interested in REI a few months ago, and I'm amazed at how much information I've taken in. Hope this helps, and best of luck!

For studying purposes I cannot be of much help.  The business side however I can share my favorites.