Need Advice - Where to start?

7 Replies

Hello,

I am currently interested in getting into Real Estate as a career. I am 21. I have no experience or knowledge of anything. I feel it would be unwise to jump into this field with no knowledge of it. Where should I start? Real Estate School? What should I do when I get out to "learn the ropes?" Where can I learn how to appraise a property and rehab costs and how much it could be worth after the rehab? I am starting from scratch here. I don't even have a foundation to build anything on. So I have to build a strong foundation first. ANY advice will be much appreciated! Have a great day!

- Connor F.

Welcome Connor, you've definitely come to the right place.  I haven't been here long and have already learned so much!

Your best bet is to really take your time and explore Bigger Pockets.  A good place to start is the beginners guide.  From there I'd hit the bigger pockets podcast, blog, and sift through and subscribe to the forum categories you are interested.

Good luck!

Hi Connor,

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!  You have taken the first step by asking questions on this site. There is a lot of information, help and advice to be had from many of the investors here. 

You can start just about anywhere in the real estate industry depending on what is of interest to you. Consider getting a real estate license. There are several options for the course of study required to take the state exam. You can attend community college, university or take the required courses from a real estate school. There are independent study courses available online if that suits your learning style. I can make recommendations if you are interested. 

Starting a new career and/or business requires study and taking action on the things you learn. Real estate is such a large industry and the opportunities are enormous for everyone involved. You will continuously learn as you go along and it is always interesting.