How do you get ahead in order to get started?

15 Replies

Hello All. My name is Kristen and I am a 33 year old mother and wife. I am getting a late start in life, but I am now ready to take risks and boost any income to make my family and I more comfortable. I am extremely tenacious and motivated to be a major success personally and professionally. I have a business management degree and desire a real estate license as well.  My main concern and dilemma is obviously getting started. I know the term, "You have to have money to make money" and I hate it. There has to be a way to get started without having hundreds of thousands of dollars in your pocket. I know people have done it and I know I can be one of them. I just need to be smart and not fall for one of the many scams out there. They certainly do know how to paint a pretty picture though! Any words of wisdom are very appreciated! 

So the first real estate book I ever read was @Brandon Turner's The Book on Investing in RE with No or Low Money Down. And there are several different ways that range from FHA loans (and thus house hacking), partnerships, private lenders, etc. I would say your first priority is to learn as much as possible right now and network with as many real estate investors or professionals.

And listen to Podcast 92 or look for one of Brandon's blog posts, he has created a ton of content on creative financing.

@Kristen Schlueter

I just invested in a property here in Denver, CO with my entire life savings ($20,000 back in November '14).  Getting $20,000 to invest was simply a matter of working hard at my job and living frugally - cooking my own food, living in a cheaper smaller place than my peers, and biking to work.  In my case, getting money to invest through basic personal financial management was far easier than finding an incredible deal or using a creative financing solution.