Newbie real estate strategy Orlando

4 Replies

Hello BP,

I am totally new to real estate and I am trying to figure out what the best strategy is for my first property. I really like the idea of a multifamily but I am hesitant about having to live next to tenants. What are the best areas in Orlando (Orange and Seminole counties) for buy and hold cash flow considering that I will live in the property first? Ideally I would like to be within 30 minutes of Apopka.

Thanks in advance:)

@Tram Ambers

Welcome. When you live there you are a tenant not the owner. Hire a property manager to start go to IREM.org search for ARM certified.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul 

@Tram Ambers

Welcome to the site.

Owner occupied multi family is a great way to get started but does have it's negatives.

I would make sure you took your time and only placed someone who would normally qualify as a tenant but also someone who you could get along with.

Originally posted by @Tram Ambers :

Hello BP,