Wholesaling in Ohio

9 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Tanisha Collins and I am new to BP and to the wholesale scene! I would love to introduce myself to everyone! Hey! I live in Columbus, Ohio and I have been learning about wholesaling for about a month now. I went driving for dollars and have mailed out a few yellow letters. No response yet. Recently I have been hearing that here in Ohio you are not allowed to do wholesaling. This makes me sad because it's something I am really interested in pursuing. Any advice or tips will be greatly appreciated!  

In Ohio, the best option I've seen for non-licensed people is to do a double closing.  In essence you negotiate terms and price with a seller and then aggressively market for an end buyer. Once you feel you have a legit end buyer, you schedule to close on the property with a 2nd closing right behind it, where the end Buyer is taking title for a permanent basis.  If you do not have the cash to buy the home and close with cash, there are many hard money lenders out there with terms that are reasonable. So in essence, you close with your Buyer A and take title, even if only for hours. Then there is a 2nd closing, a day or two later where your end Buyer, Buyer B closes with you. Hard money lenders all have different terms. Typically if you provide them with an actual contract between you and the end buyer you can find many hard money lenders with reasonable terms. Do your due diligence though, on your "end buyer", as often times your fees/rate/terms are based on the end buyer performing in a certain amount of time. If that goes beyond the specified terms then be prepared for a very high interest rate! 

Thank you @Aimee Soward-Mounts! Is this the same as transnational funding?