Let's get this done! So where do I start?

7 Replies

Hi there bigger pockets!!! My name is Anna Ayala and I'm a resident of the great state of Texas!! I am super excited to embark on my adventure into real estate investing! So here is the deal I have two little boys, and one big boy aka my husband;) and have some time on my hands.  Hard work doesn't scare me and working under pressure thrills and drives me! 

Now I have two properties that I'm interested in for investment, one as a rental and one as a flip.  I have a great mentor that's been in the business for over thirty years but she's exclusively rental properties.

I have about 10k of my personal money any advice about securing more capital for my ventures? Should I start with rentals or flipping? what would you do if you were going to buy your first property rental or flip?

Let me know! I need some advice :)

Anna

Hi Anna!  Welcome to BP.  I'm going to close this with my general hints for newbies, but let's get to your questions first.

$10k isn't a lot of money for real estate investments, particularly when any lender will likely require you to have a minimum of 20% down on any non-owner occupied purchase.  It is possible you would have to go up to 30 - 35%.  Therefore, you're going to need to find an equity partner, raise additional capital from private investors, or earn additional capital.  One good wholesale deal could get you to the $20k point easily. 2 to 3 wholesale deals like that, and you would be to the point of being able to do a small flip.  Flips could then fund your buy & hold investments.  

You could also try to locate flips or rentals, where owner financing is an option.  If you don't need to put the entire $10k down on the owner financing, it might leave you enough to swing a light rehab or a prehab that you could then turn around and wrap with your own owner financing, requiring $30k down.  (Just an example)

It's time to get creative.  It's time to find some killer deals.