When to sell vs rent?

4 Replies

Hello all! But and hold newbie here. My husband and I have a house under contract that we are planning on moving into next month. We were planning on renting out our current house and planned to net about $100/month in cash flow. However, our housing market has been doing really well and we could probably sell the house on our own and make about 25k. My question is, do we keep the current house and use it as a rental or should we sell it and use the proceeds to fund a future deal that would bring in more cash flow? Thanks in advance!

If you sell and you've occupied your home for at least 24 months, you can qualify for a tax-free gain on the sale.  If $25k is net (of closing costs and commissions), it may be worth looking at.  Save you your tax rate on that in taxes.  If $25k is gross, it's not really that much in savings, of course.  After negotiations and costs, it wouldn't be that big of a factor for me.

If you are staying in the area and can self-manage, renting it out is certainly an option.  Are you super attached to the home?  Emotions will come into play as renters potentially allow the grass to die and damage happens to the house.  Just another consideration. Many of us started by renting out our current home.  Please keep us posted @Stephanie Boggs !

usually new investors mis-estimate actual costs.

for isntance, you say you'll make $100 CF. is that rent - PITI or does that include all expenses. have you used the 50% rule? (rent x .50 - debt service = CF)

also, have you found comps for you house, or are you guessing its value? You should also calculate what it would cost you to sell (7-9%)

If you run these numbers properly then it'll be easier to decide what to do. $100CF when all expenses are calculated might make it ok to keep. If you rerun the figures and you're negative cash flow, AND you can make money by selling then the decision is made for you. 

Originally posted by @Steve Vaughan :