Handyman to REI

14 Replies

I am currently a contractor for a non-profit low income family builder. As much as I enjoy what I am doing for the community and families in need, I've been itching to do my own thing. I've already have a good start as I'm living rent free in my own house.

I just don't know the next step. I am taking steps to start up my own gig with small side jobs. I don't have the capital nor the cash flow to afford to be a GC on my own yet. I know people have taken similar steps as I am about to, just curios on how to go about it in the most streamline way possible. 

A little about me... I know how to build houses from the ground up. We build new 1000-1300 sq ft houses. I am 27 years old and have been interested in RE since I started working on a construction crew during my high school summers. I live in Lafayette, LA. I would like to start with small projects and work my way up. So.. from handyman to GC to REI with a mixture of all because I still like to get my hands dirty.

You have a hugggggeeee advantage compared to people that have no building experience. I think you need to be more specific on what you want to do and what you want to invest in. There are so many options and it may more helpful if people knew what you were interested in pursuing. SFH,Multi's, Apartment Complex's? Buy and hold...flipping? Maybe you would like to do them all! I know one thing is true- you wont have to hire a contractor to do the work(lucky you)!

Welcome to BP and I wish you the best of luck!

James

IMO, I think you should start going to a few local REIA meetings if you have one close to you. You can network with other local investors. You bring a lot to the table and could probably find someone willing to partner with you on a few deals. There are plenty of other investors out there who have captial but don't have the construction knowledge that you have. Good luck!!