Need advice for setting up LLC, finding mentor

13 Replies

Hello. I am a newbie to REI and I am in the process of setting up my first LLC. I signed up with a company called Your Entity Solution (YES) through another company called WCAP Financial on Thursday for an unlimited LLC. However, after doing some more research with companies similar to these, I am wondering if I should cancel my contract (they have a 3-business-day cancellation/refund policy) and instead set up an LLC with a recommended attorney located in my area. YES does not have the authority to provide legal advice, and somewhere in my research I came across the 100K unsecured line of credit that they help new companies start out with for an additional fee...that sounded a little sketchy to me. Please advise! Tomorrow is my last day to cancel and get a refund.

Second, because I am new to REI, I am looking for a mentor. What is the best way to find someone? Should it be someone who is local? I appreciate your time reading this. Thanks.

I would definitely advise setting up the LLC with a lawyer. A lawyer might be more expensive, but definitely worth. A lawyer can help make sure you not only set up your LLC properly, but that you operate properly, too. Otherwise, the LLC does not offer the liability protection you think it does.

As for a mentor, I think @Joshua Dorkin and @Brandon Turner are as helpful as a mentor to all 50,000+ of us who listen regularly to the BP Podcast.  It never hurts to meet more people and learn from more perspectives, but after finding BP and the BP Podcast, I have not felt the need to actively pursue a mentor.  That said an agent or mentor with knowledge of you local market can be very helpful.

Good luck!

@Elizabeth Russell

Welcome. Connect with Amanda Han who is active on BP she is a real estate CPA.