Over priced market

46 Replies

I am living in a market (Marin county cali) where everything is going for well over asking, some of them 200k over! I am a newbie and it does not make sense to even start here when everything is over priced. There are markets nearby that are much more affordable(within in a hr of driving)   Any help or advice? 

There are deals even in those markets. Find properties where the people are desperate to get out, find wholesellers, those are where the deals are at!

Thanks Rodney, seems that there could be some door knocking involved? Its a very small and one of the most expensive places to live........Beverly Hills of Northern Cali..........

Hey @Erik Lindquist

for the most part I would agree with the comment below but as I just moved out of Marin county down to Silicon Valley it is a tough market up there. We offered and offered and offered just to be beat out by cash buyers sometimes 100k over our offer. Not to say there aren't deals in Marin but you need to find someone who doesn't want to list their place on the MLS and just needs to get out quick.

I feel like the whole bay area is like sharks swimming in a pool of blood, if your not the first to strike you are left hungry on the side lines. 

For areas that cost a little less look right across the bridge to Richmond or even just north to Petaluma or Santa Rosa.

Anyway welcome to BP and good luck! 

Hello Erik, 

Being in Los Angeles I know what you mean. The same type of thing is happening here as well. I think it would be a good idea to look at those areas that are much more affordable. An hour drive is not too bad to drive for a deal. 

One thing to keep in mind though is market demand though. If it's an area that doesn't have much competition and it's very easy to buy a property...then it might not be too easy to resell it too. 

Also you didn't mention if your strategy was to flip or if you are looking for a buy and hold rental property?