With what you know now and forced to start over, what would you do with $30,000?

33 Replies

Yes, I've been mostly lurking these past few months as I try to deal with situations preventing me from focusing on REI without distraction.

In the meantime,  I need ideas to chew on until then.  So this question is really for the seasoned investor:

With the knowledge you have gained over the years Mr. or Mrs. Professional Investor, if I were to magically pluck you from your life and land you back on planet Earth, USA, with $30,000 in cash to start over.....where would you go and what would you do?

.....and trust me when I say that whether I'm a newbie or not I'm going to do my best to pick your plans apart!  :)

I'd go get more money.

@Randy Landman I agree and would get a job and double up my money... But sticking to just real estate Inwould start with finding the perfect market to get involved in.. 

Is 30k not enough to cover a first deal?  I suppose it is area dependent but I am looking for deals at every point my savings is at.  Although in New York City 30k might not go far.

@Conway Churaman well you still havent said what your goals are, for me I would take a complete a flip, prob have about 50k when done, depending on my goals, I would rinse and repeat, growing this money, then JV with others who did all the work and let me have 1/2 the profit, or I could take and put as downpayment for a smaller complex giving my cashflow. I tell people all the time till I know your goals I cant give good advice whats best for me may not be the same for you.

Find a good deal with seller financing... One that they're willing to carry 10%, you put down the $30k and then get the bank to cover 70%. 

Originally posted by @Jeremy Tillotson :