Am I in the clear?

11 Replies

I'm new to real estate investing and I am closing on a property tomorrow. I should be excited but I'm more nervous. This is the second wholesale deal I have completed on my own however this one is different. The property was brought to me by another wholesaler. I did not tie it up myself but I passed it along to another invetsor. The investor is paying me 13k which is awesome. I was speaking to a friend that is a Realtor and he told me to be careful I might be breaking the law. He stated I cannot broker a deal unless I have ownership rights via the contract. Although I did not negotiate terms or price am I still liable by collecting a fee? The investor had me send her an invoice and she has also placed me on the hud. Feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.

You should probably learn, or at least read, your state real estate licensing laws for yourself.  Google is pretty handy for this.

In my area, Columbus Ohio, the would be illegal (practicing real estate without a license) as you are taking a commission off the deal. The way wholesalers here get around that is by selling the contract, which is different than making a commission,or by actually closing on the house and then selling it. Only realtors working under brokers or brokers themselves are allowed to facilitate the sale of real estate for profit of property that they themselves do not have a stake in. You should really consider getting a good real estate attorney on your team, it's honestly too expensive not to. Good Luck!

This post has been removed.