Data analytics for the investor

4 Replies

Hi,

I want to start out by saying that I am new at this and while I own one rental I am still a long way out to working on figuring out my next move in this real estate space.  The main thing I am trying to do is understand is where my core competences fit in with the world of real estate investing.

A better part of my day job is data analytics and database report writing and as I have started my research into real estate investing I found myself drawn to court records, property tax data, etc.  I was wondering if there is anything out there as far as options ether in data driven investing or providing data services to others (e.g. wholesalers, etc).  

@Michael Zagorsky , I just had a look at the analysis you gave 6 months ago of your own rental (your very first post). You figured right down to every cent for everything including depreciation, adding-back depreciation, minus mortgage principal reduction, all of which result in an annual $2,721.31 net free cash flow for you. Heady stuff. 

Is there such a thing as over-analyzing? But anyway, you will be in your element here at BiggerPockets. There are LOTS of resources like you are talking about.

Your future services to investors might best be drawn from your own experiences - resulting from more purchases that you have not made yet (even though you already know ALL the theory)! Cheers...