Finding A Real Estate Agent

11 Replies

Hi All,

I have been on the Bigger Pockets site for a few months now.  Quietly watching, reading, and listening - however, I am still not extremely comfortable.  My name is Max and I am from the Denver, CO area.  A recent grad of Colorado State University - I now work in the financial industry.  I am extremely interested in becoming involved with real estate and hopefully growing it into something special.

I am interested in purchasing a multi-family for my first home and real estate investment.  When is the right time to find a real estate agent?  Furthermore, how do I find one that I want to work with/that is good at their job/ec?

Input on this topic would be greatly appreciated.  I have read a lot about people freezing up and never making the plunge to actually become an active real estate investor and I am determined to not let that be me.

Of course everything I say is going to sound biased, but it's good to find an agent early in the process as a buyer. It gives you time to vet your options and really pick one that best suits your needs. It's never a good idea to just pick one and trust they'll be a good fit without a good interview.

Since you're new to the game make sure to go with someone who will help you plan on top of helping you purchase. If your goal is to continue in real estate investing then that relationship will be a big part. 

Dan Mackin, Real Estate Agent in CO (#FA.100056958)

Welcome Max! 1st post is a pretty good start to making that leap. Now let’s talk about a good time to find you an agent... my vote is YESTERDAY!

Of course you want to make sure you have everything on your end covered as far as investment knowledge and/or a mentor. Another important thing is to have a timeframe in when you'd to make your first investment. Is it this month? 3 months? Next year? 3 years? I would rely less on when the time is right, and lean more towards when the deal is write.