Need help with possible deal

5 Replies

Hello everyone. My name is Norman Whitley from Moderate Property Investors, LLC. I'm currently live in Greensboro NC. I'm new to REI but having been doing research and studying for almost two years now. Now I'm ready to take my leap to see if i can gather all the information and excel in this business. I met and investors who does investing international. He stated that he would sell his two properties to me once I told him I was and investor. One property is 3 bedrooms condo around 1200ft asking $65k and estimated at 74k. Zip code avg list price 174k. The second property 2 bedrooms townhouse 1100 ft asking 75k and estimated at 82k. Being that this is my first time I'm scared to step out there because 1) not sure if it's good enough deal 2) it felt in my lap too easy for it to be a good deal. Can you guys give me advice or help and I'll do a JV with you??

I think that you will need to ask yours of some questions before you move forward.

What is going to be the use of the property? What is the exit strategy? What are the rents and expenses? Have you done your due diligence? Can the area support rent increases? Is the seller willing to hold the loan?

I would ask several more based on the info you have given.

For a flip I usually buy the property for $100,000 less then the average ARV.

For a rental I usually but the property for $70,000 less then the ARV.

This gives me different options for an exit. Your properties only seem to have one exit and that is renting them.

Good luck

What are the rental comps in the area? How much rental inventory is available in the area? Does the properties need rehab and if so how much? Have you laid eyes on the properties? When something is too easy then you need to ask more questions than normally.

Adam B. Please do your due diligence

@Norman Whitley