College Grad wanting to start investing.

19 Replies

Hello everyone!

I will be graduating here next month from Northwest University up near Seattle, and I am very eager to get into real estate investing. My degree is in business management and Accounting, but real estate is my passion. I have very little money saved up as I have been paying down my student loans very aggressively while in school. I want to find a way I get started as quickly as possible. It will clearly take me a while to save up some decent capital, but I'm looking for other suggestions. I don't have a job lined up yet so there is no income yet to use as far as loans go. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am looking to try wholesaling while I don't have a lot of cash, and am meeting with an investor in a few days to talk about that, any other suggestions?

Thanks everyone!

Get a job, save money, study hard, take action.

Get a job, save money, study hard, take action.

Blake, my degree is also in business management and Accounting.  I've taken the route of getting a stable W2 job and investing on the side.  Starting this early will put you miles ahead, keep at it!  Look for partners where you can put int he sweat equity.  Look for a job that uses your degree and is RE related or adjacent.  Hang out with other investors.  BP has great local meet-ups, I try to get to the Olympia one when I can, know they have ones farther north too.

Hey Blake, 

I graduated from NU several years ago. Congrats on completing your education.

My best recommendation is to get plugged in to the meetups. The Kirkland and Seattle meetups are full of amazing people that are effective in the game.  On top of that, listen to the podcasts and read as much as you can. 

Best of luck!

Nate

thank you Michele and Nathan! i really appreciate the encouraging words! I will for sure be checking out some of the local meetups, and i hope to meet both of you soon!